Aquarium Seed Starter

This has been a super busy weekend for me in the garden and yard. So much it’s going to be more than one post.

First up is using an aquarium as a seed starter.

This idea goes back a while and involves a few weird twists.
1. I am horrible at starting seeds. They always end up all leggy, and then die.

2. I had a groupon for a garden center that was about to expire a while ago, after being ignored by the staff I grabbed a seed starting mat and thermometer.

3. My pet mouse died. Leaving me an empty aquarium. (Yes. I had a pet mouse, the aquarium has a lid)

So after a trip to target I snagged a lamp, and assembled the tank.

20120916-210734.jpg

20120916-210745.jpg

The foil is to reflect the light around the tank.

So far it’s working wonderfully. I wish I had this back in July. Because I’m late starting these seeds.

20120916-211018.jpg

I used small jiffy pots, seed starting mix, and snack size baggies to create mini green houses. This allows them to stay moist, breathe a little. They are easy to watch and portable.

Next step? A timer for the light so all I have to do is water.

Tomorrow I’ll show you how to make your own seed tape!

About sm1372

First time homeowner attempting to make the most out of the benefits of having a yard and a love of food and cooking.

Posted on September 17, 2012, in Garden, Home and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

